Reconsidering Murdock: State-Law Reversals as Constitutional Avoidance
Jonathan F. Mitchell
Assistant Professor of Law, George Mason University School of Law

Thanks to Michael Abramowicz, William Baude, A.J. Bellia, Stephanos Bibas, Frederic Bloom, Curtis Bradley, Mark Chenoweth, Eric Claeys, Brad Clark, Richard Epstein, Brian Fitzpatrick, Rick Garnett, Jack Goldsmith, John Harrison, John Inazu, Greg Jacob, Ashley Keller, Gary Lawson, Jason Mazzone, Tom Miles, Adam Mortara, Nelson Lund, Nicholas Quinn Rosenkranz, David Strauss, Eugene Volokh, and to workshop participants at George Mason University and the Virginia Junior Faculty Forum for comments.

Taming Cerberus: The Beast at AEDPA's Gates
Patrick J. Fuster
BA 2014, University of California, Berkeley; JD Candidate 2018, The University of Chicago Law School

The Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996 (AEDPA) established the current regime under which federal courts address petitions for a writ of habeas corpus by state prisoners.